The reposet

USGenWeb Election Committee

The USGenWeb Election Committee is an Official Committee of the USGenWeb Project.

It is not affiliated with any other election, voting or campaign project or committee.

Third Quarter 2003 Report of the Election Committee

USGenWeb Election Committee Report #3 Third Quarter 2003 Report October 1, 2003

The USGenWeb Election Committee respectfully submits the following 3rd Quarter Report.

July 2003 -

Voting in the National Election 2003 began. Bounces were heavy, notwithstanding concerted efforts to prepare an accurate voter list.

July 2 - Temporary Helper Connie Snyder left EC due to vacation.

Election results were announced on 4 August, 2003:

National Coordinator

Total Votes: 499

Richard Harrison - 150 30.1%

Tim Stowell - 114 22.8%

Ron Eason - 89 17.8%

Jim Powell - 78 15.6%

Bill Oliver - 68 13.6%

Run-off between Richard Harrison and Tim Stowell

Representative At Large

Total Votes: 425

Shari Handley - 141 33.2%

Angie Rayfield - 113 26.6%

Jason Mendenhall - 88 20.7%

Ellen Rohr - 83 19.5%

Run-off between Shari Handley and Angie Rayfield

Archives Representative Total Votes: 61

Cyndie Enfinger - 22 36.1%

Ken Johnson - 21 34.4%

Maggie Stewart-Zimmerman - 18 29.5%

Runoff - Cyndie Enfinger and Ken Johnson

Tombstone Representative

Pam Reid - 14 100%

Unopposed - The Election Committee Hereby Declares Pam Reid Winner

NorthEast/North Central SC Representative

Total Votes: 8

Richard Howland - 5 62.5% Marcia Kuehl - 3 37.5%

The Election Committee Hereby Declares Richard Howland Winner.

NorthEast/North Central CC Rep

Total Votes: 116

Barbara Lavin - 41 35.3% Teri Brown - 39 33.6% Scott Burow - 36 31.0%

Run-Off between Barbara Lavin and Teri Brown

NorthWest Plains SC Representative

Don Kelly - 6 100%

Unopposed - The Election Committee Hereby Declares Don Kelly Winner.

Northwest Plains CC Representative - Two Seats Available

Total Votes: 165

Gail Meyer Kilgore - 60 36.4% Darilee Bednar - 55 33.3% <

br> Sandra Newman Sanchez - 50 30.3% The Election Committee Hereby Declares:

Gail Meyer Kilgore Winner - Two year Term Darilee Bednar Winner - One Year Term

SouthEast/Mid-Atlantic SC Representative

Christine Goff - 12 100%

Unopposed - The Election Committee Hereby Declares Christine Goff Winner

SouthEast/Mid-Atlantic CC Representative - Two Positions Available

Total Votes: 308

Denise Woodside - 83 26.9% Linda Blum-Barton - 77 25.0%

Heather Jones DeGeorge - 72 23.4%

Tom Parker - 46 14.9% Ron Dailey - 30 9.7%

The Election Committee Hereby Declares:

Denise Woodside - Two Year Term

Linda Blum-Barton - One Year Term

Southwest/South Central CC Representative

Total Votes: 129

Bettie Wood - 53 41.1%

Roger Swafford - 35 27.1%

Bunny Freeman - 23 17.8%

Jeff Scism - 18 14.0%

Run-Off - Bettie Wood and Roger Swafford.

Voting in the Run-Off Elections began Aug 8, 2003, and ended Aug 22, 2003. The results were as follows:

National Coordinator Richard Harrison - 273 Tim Stowell - 195 The Election Committee declared Richard Harrison winner.

Representative At Large Shari Handley - 232 Angie Rayfield - 163 The Election Committee declared Shari Handley winner.

Archives Representative
Cyndie Enfinger - 35
Ken Johnson - 21
The Election Committee declared Cyndie Enfinger winner.

NorthEast/North Central CC Rep
Teri Brown - 63
Barbara Lavin - 42
The Election Committee declared Teri Brown winner.

Southwest/South Central CC Representative
Roger Swafford - 41
Bettie Wood - 79
The Election Committee declared Bettie Wood winner.

The Election Committee therein closed the National 2003 Election.

Participation - After corrections were made to the voter list, a total of 2339 eligible members were sent passwords. The participation factor in the NC race was 21.3%, and in the RAL race, 18%. Participation in the Run-Off Election was comparable.

EC Member Kimberly Morgan resigned 19 August, due to a virus that wiped out her computer.

At the conclusion of the Run-Off Election, the EC Helpers were unsubbed from the EC List. They did an outstanding job, and the EC would like to take this opportunity to recognize them individually:

Shirley Cullum
Deb Haines
Connie Snyder
Greta Thompson

EC Member Bettie Wood returned to the EC 27 August.

On 28 August a Call for EC Volunteers was made.

31 August - AB Rep Tina Vickery was unsubbed from the EC list, due to the end of her term. Acting AB chair Shari Handly was temporarily subbed as acting ex-officio until NC Richard Harrison returned, so that the EC would have AB representation.

September -

Former EC Chair Linda Haas Davenport was invited as EC guest to assist in formulating recommended EC Procedure changes.

On 8 September the EC began the process of conducting a SC election for WIGenWeb, at the request of the current SC.

AB Rep Cyndie Enfinger was welcomed to the EC on 21 September, as AB representative to the EC.

Respectfully submitted, The USGenWeb Election Committee

Quarterly Reports Index



Copyright 2003
USGenWeb Election Committee